Spontaneous Saturdays – 7/16

Saturday’s forecast for Slate Run is excellent – high of 80, 30% chance of showers – I’ll take it.  Unless something changes drastically, I am planning on hiking the Golden Eagle Trail  – 9.2 miles.  I’m going to be a hiking heretic and confess that this isn’t my favorite hike up there.  My heart belongs to the Black Forest Trail, but I’m probably the only one who feels that way.  Nonetheless, it’s well worth doing and…HIKING!!!  Is there a better way to spend the day?

It’s described as strenuous and I don’t think I’d disagree.  Add your thoughts in comments, if I’m wrong; I did it last November so it’s not all that fresh in my mind.  The climb to Raven’s Horn, near the beginning of the hike, is a good workout and the first half of the trail is a steady climb.  There’s a fairly steep downhill at one point, but it’s not terribly long.   Most of the hike is along creek beds – Wolf and Bonnell Runs and there are nettles.  There are usually snakes at Raven’s Horn, but I didn’t see any in November.

I need to be back in State College around 4:00 p.m. or so, and I’ll be leaving at an insanely early hour – 6:30 a.m.  I should be on the trail by around 8:00 a.m. and it should take about 4 1/2 to 5 hours to hike.  I have short legs and may go at a slower pace than a lot of people and I average about 2 miles an hour.  I’m also very much of a traditionalist and one of my favorite post-hike rituals is to head up the road about 4 miles to Wolf’s Store in Slate Run for a well-deserved cold soda, so build that into your day if you ride with me.

I would love to have company, so if this appeals to you, e-mail me at litz.jennifer@gmail.com and we can work out a meeting time and place.

Leave a Reply

